Using Caps Lock as an extra Ctrl in suse 11.2/kde

As I’m using Emacs on a regular basis these days, I’m totally dependent on my left control-key being easy to reach (if you don’t know what I’m talking about, go read about emacs before continuing!). It may sound like a trivial problem, but you’re little-finger will tend to get pretty tired after reaching for that button way-down-there-at-the-corner again and again during a long day of writing (if you think I’m overstating the problem, you clearly didn’t follow my first advice: Read about, or better yet, try out Emacs for a couple of weeks!).

Yesterday I came across this tip, that I hadn’t thought about: Why not switch the Ctrl-key with the Caps Lock? The latter is hardly ever used anyway! At first I thought nah, silly unnecessary idea – using the control key is not THAT big of a hassle anyway. Then today, after working en Emacs for only a short while, it became too tempting, and I decided to swap it after all. Or rather, I turned Caps into an extra Ctrl-key. The reason is that I use Ctrl + Alt and the arrow keys to switch between desktops, a combo I’ve used for years, so I wouldn’t want to mess that up.

Luckily, KDE has this sweet feature, which lets you set just these things, simple as… well, something really simple:

Using caps as an extra ctrl in KDE

Under system settings -> Regional & Language

I’m still getting used to this, but I don’t think it’s going to take long. Best of all, this works across the OS, of course; opening a new window in my browser, or what ever else I might use Ctrl for is now easier. I definitely recommend giving it a whirl. Enjoy! šŸ™‚

About kjartanl

Systems Developer working near Bergen, Norway.
This entry was posted in Science & tech, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

